Implementing AsyncWrite, struggling with Lifetimes and Pin

Hello, I'm fairly new to Rust and even moreso new to Async Rust. I'm currently battling with Future lifetimes and Pinning whilst trying to implement AsyncWrite.

Here is an example of what I would like to achieve:

use std::{io, pin::Pin, task::{Context, Poll}};
use futures::{AsyncWrite, Future, AsyncWriteExt, FutureExt, ready};

struct Writer<'a> {
    conn: &'a mut Connection,
    fut: Option<Pin<Box<dyn Future<Output = io::Result<usize>>>>>
}

impl<'a> AsyncWrite for Writer<'a> {
    fn poll_write(
            self: Pin<&mut Self>,
            cx: &mut Context<'_>,
            buf: &[u8],
        ) -> Poll<io::Result<usize>> {
        let this = self.get_mut();
        let fut = match this.fut.as_mut() {
            Some(fut) => fut,
            None => {
                this.fut.get_or_insert(Box::pin(this.conn.write_some(buf)))
            }
        };
        let result = ready!(fut.poll_unpin(cx));
        this.fut = None;
        Poll::Ready(result)
    }

fn poll_flush(self: Pin<&mut Self>, cx: &mut Context<'_>) -> Poll<io::Result<()>> {
        todo!()
    }

fn poll_close(self: Pin<&mut Self>, cx: &mut Context<'_>) -> Poll<io::Result<()>> {
        todo!()
    }
}

struct Connection {
    buf: Vec<u8>
}

impl Connection {
    pub fn new() -> Self {
        Self {
            buf: Vec::new()
        }
    }

pub fn writer(&mut self) -> Writer {
        Writer { conn: self, fut: None }
    }

pub async fn write_some(&mut self, buf: &[u8]) -> io::Result<usize> {
        let result = self.do_something_else(buf).await?;
        self.buf.extend(&buf[result..]);
        Ok(buf.len())
    }

pub async fn do_something(&mut self) -> io::Result<usize> {
        // Do something async with self.buf
        todo!()
    }

async fn do_something_else(&mut self, buf: &[u8]) -> io::Result<usize> {
        todo!()
    }
}

#[tokio::main]
async fn main() {
    let mut conn = Connection::new();