Impact of sloppy reference lifetimes

Hi there!

I'm very new to Rust and coming from a higher level language (Java). I would like to know what the consequences of sloppy lifetime usage are. I caught myself not really thinking about
lifetimes and instead just trying to get them to work. Of course I was not always using 'static lifetimes,
but I'm pretty sure that there are parts in my code now, where the lifetimes could be improved by a lot.

Best regards,
Dominik

If it compiles you will be fine. Could you provide an example of such a piece of code, where you think the lifetimes can be improved?

(You could try to run clippy over your code to see where your code could be improved)

1 Like

I'm not really sure where my lifetimes could be improved. It was an assumption that they could be wrong. But thanks for the clippy tip! I'll have a look at it. :smile:

I'm not sure I understand your question.

My take on lifetimes is:

1. If you have them wrong, your program will not compile. As such it's impossible to have sloppy lifetimes.

2. Lifetimes are not just those tick marks you put in your code. The actual lifetime of objects in your program is determined by where your data is created, how it is passed around and so on. The structure of your code defines the lifetimes of objects.

I consider myself to be new to Rust, having only started out a year ago. There are many areas of Rust I have not even looked at yet much. But I don't think I have ever written a lifetime annotation into my code. Despite that I have code that has been running in production for much of this last year.

In fact I would go as far as to say that for a lot of application level code if one starts to feel the need for lifetime annotations it's time to step back and think about your program structure and how it can be rearranged to avoid that.

I guess the view I express there likely does not apply if you are creating lower level libraries.