Immutatable References to Mutex Value / "Global" Atomic Boolean

Hello Rust Community,
this is my first thread and my first post, since I started learning Rust some days ago.
I wrote a small programm based on the Command Line Programm-Tutorial, which basically aims to write a heavily simplified Rust version of “grep”.

After reading the tutorial to a certain point, I decided to extend the programm in order for it to work recursively through directories. This of course creates the need to gracefully abort parsing when CTRL-C is hit, for instance when working on really large folders.

I implemented a read_directory function that basically calls fs::read_dir and steps through the result inserting the content of each file into a HashMap with the file path as a key. The function recursivley calls itself if a listed file is actually a directory.

The idea is, that I break the for loop and the recursion of the read_directory function if a “global” boolean named “shutdown” is true.
Shutdown needs to be true if CTRL-C is hit.

In order to achive this, I added a shutdown handler via ctrlc:
ctrlc::set_handler(shutdown_hook).expect("Failed to set shutdown hook");

Originally I decided to create a mutable boolean, move it to the shutdown_hook closure and pass a immutatable reference to all further functions like read_directory.

Since the set_handler function only accepts Fn, I could not move the shutdown boolean to the closure.

So I decided to create a Mutex<bool>, which works fine with the shutdown_hook clouse, like this:

let shutdown = Mutex::new(false);

let shutdown_hook = move || {
    let mut s = shutdown.lock().expect("Failed to aquire lock");
    if !*s {
        *s = true;
        println!("Aborting...");
    }
};  
ctrlc::set_handler(shutdown_hook).expect("Failed to set shutdown hook");

The problem is that since I moved the Mutex to the closure, I now can not pass a reference to the Mutex to read_directory. I’m thus forced to create atomic references via Arc.