I'm still thinking OOP in Rust, please help me for escape

I have 10 years of experience about Java, Python and PHP. And I have strong OOP skills. I think everything as objects and every object has a parent object in my mind. But I want to continue to my career as Rust developer. But going to functional programming from OOP is harder than I though. Because my brain is confusing. How can I reuse methods, how can I share properties, how can I extend them and create class hierarchy and the more important question is that is the inheritence necessary? If inheritence isn't necessary then how can I create model for things? Actually I don't know my real problem too. May be I miss some important issues about Rust, or I just need a little more practice etc... Please help me for finding my problem and solution... May be this question is nonsense but still I need help. Thanks.

Edit: Let me explain which topics I understood about Rust. Borrowing and ownership, mutability, if and match, loops, vectors, generics, creating a basic struct, creating a trait, implementing a trait for a struct, deriving a trait to a struct, enums, writing tests, writing comments for auto generating documentation. I only know these topics. Which topics I didn't understand? How and where to use the where keyword, async (actually I'm understanding a little bit this topic) and other advanced things.

Edit: Which tutorials I finished?

I can understand the lessons but still I'm not feeling myself comfortable when I create a project in Rust for myself. I hope I able to expleined my problem. Thanks for helping me.

5 Likes

For me, the biggest shift was changing my initial planning from "who is doing what" (like casting actors in a play) to "what data is grouped together".

I usually start with a struct with fields I think are related, then create free methods. When I notice a function using fields mainly from one struct, then I consider changing it to an method on that struct.