I'm new and i need help with code

Hello, I am new to programming in Rust and I would like to write some code from c ++ just in Rust but I have no idea how I could do it, could anyone help? Thank you right away and don't get into the matter with this code :smiley:

#include

using namespace std;

string PIN;

int main()
{
cout << "Welcome to our bank!" << endl;
cout<<"enter PIN:";
cin >> PIN;

if(PIN=="1729")
{
    cout<<"correct PIN";
}
if(PIN!="1729")
{
    cout<<"uncorrenct PIN";
}

return 0;

}

Please format your code by surrounding it with backticks (```) as per the pinned topic.

If you haven't read the Rust Programming Language book, it does a pretty good job at introducing the language, including how to print out and read in text.

1 Like

The code does three things, so let's break it down:

• print the welcome message;

• ask for input;

• check if the input is equal to "1729".

Most of these can be solved by reading the Programming a Guessing Game chapter of the book. Here's an additional tip: Rust's output is line-buffered by default, so to print a partial line and wait for input, flush is necessary. For now, you can use this convenience wrapper (admittedly crude), which is similarly to Python's input:

use std::io::{self, prelude::*};

fn input(message: &str) -> io::Result<String> {
    let stdout = io::stdout();

let mut stdout = stdout.lock();
    write!(stdout, "{}", message)?;
    stdout.flush()?;

let mut input = String::new();
    io::stdin().read_line(&mut input)?;

if input.ends_with('\n') {
        input.pop();
    }
    Ok(input)
}

You can use it like:

let pin = input("Enter PIN: ");

By the way, here's my version of the C++ code that you posted:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int main()
{
    std::cout << "Welcome to our bank!\n"
              << "Enter PIN: ";

std::string input;
    std::getline(std::cin, input);

if (input == "1729") {
        std::cout << "Correct PIN.\n";
    } else {
        std::cout << "Incorrect PIN.\n";