If let alternative?

I am a beginner at rust, so...

I was working with some json data today, reading and extracting data from it, using serde_json. In many cases I got a jason node as a serde_json::Value, which is an option type. I know that it was a Vallue::Array(v) type but had to keep writing stuff like this:

if let Value::Array(items) = items {
        for item in items {
            /// do something with each item
        }
    }

Is this the only way to do this? It is very verbose. Is there a better way the is more rust-ish?

(and I know that I could read json into real objects, but that is not the issue here)

Thanks.

Generally no. However most enum types will have functions that help you with this

Add an iterator adapter and you can reduce it to one loop:

for item in items.as_array().flatten() {
  // do something
}

flatten turns the Option<&Vec<Value>> into an iterator over the values in the array.
This works because &Vec<Value> implemnts IntoIterator<Item=&Value>.

1 Like

I believe you might have made a mistake, you can't call .flatten() on an Option<&Vec<T>>:

fn main() {
    let vec = Vec::<usize>::new();
    let foo = Some(&vec);
    for i in foo.flatten() {
        println!("{:?}", i);
    }
}

Playground

However, this can be fixed by saying:

fn main() {
    let vec = vec![1, 2, 3];
    let foo = Some(&vec);
    for i in foo.into_iter().flatten() {
        println!("{:?}", i);
    }
}

Playground

Since Option<T> implements IntoIterator<Item = T> (it produces an iterator with either one or no elements), calling .into_iter() turns it into an Iterator<Item = &Vec<T>>. Calling .flatten() on an iterator of things which can be turned into iterators (&Vec<T> implements IntoIterator<Item = &T>) will yield an iterator over items &T.

This approach leaves out any kind validation in the case it isn't an array, so I might suggest you say instead:

for item in items.as_array().unwrap() {
    // Do something with item
}