Idiomatic Rust?

Hello. I'm new to Rust. I'm reading the Rust Programming Language (I bought two copies :grin:) and Programming Rust and using codewars.com to try and exercise what I've learned thus far. So there is a lot of guess work and looking things up on doc.rust-lang.org because I don't have a real sense of idiomatic Rust yet. In order to speed up the process of learning idiomatic Rust I'd like to post my codewars solutions here and have it reviewed.

// Given a string containing space separated numbers
// return a string with the highest and lowest number
fn high_and_low(src: &str) -> String {
    let mut v: Vec<i32> = Vec::new();
    for c in src.split_ascii_whitespace() {
        v.push(c.parse().unwrap());
    }
    v.sort();
    let mut rs = String::new();
    rs.push_str(&v[v.len() - 1].to_string());
    rs.push(' ');
    rs.push_str(&v[0].to_string());
    rs
}
1 Like

This looks fine, for the most part!

A few little tweaks you could make:

• Instead of explicitly creating a Vec and then pushing things in via a for loop, you could use a map and a collect on the iterator returned from split_ascii_whitespace.
  • Rather than manually pushing stuff into a String, you could use the format! macro.
  • Rather than indexing, you could use the first and last methods on Vec (although bear in mind that, since the Vec could be empty, these return an Option you'll have to unwrap or handle).

Aside from what has already been mentioned, instead of unwrapping when trying to parse the string as a number, you should just skip the garbage value unless the requirement is to crash the program at the slightest ill-formed user input.

1 Like

@17cupsofcoffee Most of what was said required looking stuff up so here is what I've come up with.

fn high_and_low(numbers: &str) -> String {
    let mut v: Vec<i32> = numbers.split_ascii_whitespace()
                                 .map(|c| c.parse().unwrap())
                                 .collect();
    v.sort();