Idiomatic Rust to port C++ mutable static functionality

Hi all,

I'm porting the ran2() function from Numerical Recipes in C (can be found here, at page 282) into Rust. I've never written any C or C++ before today, so I apologise if I get anything from here on incorrect.

Within the C++ ran2() are three (mutable) static variables:

static long idum2 = 123456789;
static long iy = 0;
static long iv[NTAB];

My understanding is that, being statics, they are initalised on first call to the function with the starting values above. Then for every call to ran2() thereafter they use values from previously, and update each iteration accordingly. The input parameter, idum, also updates every iteration, so I also needed to port this into Rust (preferably without using a pointer?).

It appears the use of mutable statics in Rust is highly discouraged. That said, I still wanted to retain the exact functionality of ran2(). From my limited testing, I have successfully done so by teasing out the statics, and idum, into a struct as follows:

/*
main.rs
*/
mod random; // contains ran2()

// would normally be in random.rs but we need it here to create `iv`
const NTAB: i32 = 32;

// struct to keep track of the statics in the C++ code
struct Ran2Params {
    idum: i32
    idum2: i32,
    iy: i32,
    iv: [i32; NTAB as usize],
}

fn main() {
    // instantiate our params for ran2()
    let mut params: Ran2Params = Ran2Params {
        idum: -5,
        idum2: 123456789,
        iy: 0,
        iv: [0; NTAB as usize],
    };

let mut x: f64;

// generate a random number, x, 10 times
    for _ in 0..10 {
        // generate x and store the new params temporarily
        let (idum, idum2, iy, iv, x) = random::ran2(
            params.idum, params.idum2, params.iy, params.iv);
        // update the struct with the new params before they go out of scope
        params = Ran2Params {
            idum: idum,
            idum2: idum2,
            iy: iy,
            iv: iv,
        };