Idiomatic camel case rules. Is chrono behaving badly?

Using chrono I need a use line like:

use chrono::{Timelike, Datelike, DateTime, TimeZone, Utc, Duration}; //,Local};                                         

There is DateTime and Datelike one is camel case and one is not (? I am not a language lawyer?)

Is this “bad”? Seems to me to violate the principal of least astonishment.

Datelike is one word, so this is the correct camel casing
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/datelike

6 Likes

I am astonished!

1 Like

That’s a bit of a pun though, since “datelike” specifically refers to the fruit.

3 Likes

Timelike refers to…
That is a good point. I did not read that link to wiktionary properly, thank you.
So it is a error because it is not a fruit, it is a date…
Relieved that I was right to type use chrono::DateLike appalled that I was wrong to write…

While I’m no longer an active maintainer of Chrono, I assure you that Datelike and Timelike were intended to be a single word. :wink: More specifically, I thought that <noun>like is perfectly fine because “timelike” is really a word (as does “spacelike”).

Funny what you learn, tangential to what you study.
I had no idea that <noun>like is a valid word construction.

1 Like

True, I think it’s a great pun ¯_(ツ)_/¯

1 Like

As a native English speaker, I am surprised that “datelike” even appears in the dictionary, and I certainly hold no value to the claim that it refers “specifically to the fruit,” even if that’s what the dictionary (or a dictionary-like site) claims.

It’s a common construction you can apply to any noun. The only notable exception I can think of is that sometimes it’s hyphenated and sometimes it’s not, based on some strange unspoken rule none of us can put into words. (all I can say is that it’s obviously “barberlike” and not “barber-like”, even though none of us have use for such a word)

• Merriam-Webster calls “-like” the adjective combining form, e.g. “bell-like” and “ladylike”.