I try to port a java program having many inheritance, any advice?

Hi.

I'm trying to port a java program, which is a bioinfomatics tool, to Rust.

I'm not an experienced programmer, and had some trouble porting another java program having many inheritance.

But the program for me to port now, have many class inheritances too.

I googled it a bit and got ways:

1. struct having fields having parent struct.
  2. using trait

Could you give me a good approach to this?

Thanks in advance.

There is a lot to say on that topic, so to start I'll refer you to a recent discussion in this forum on the same topic.

You may have already seen the Object-Oriented Programming Features of Rust chapter in the book.

Yes, that's called composition and is something that can work.

But one thing you'll hear repeated often is that it usually best to rethink the design to some degree, rather than try to implement implementation inheritance in Rust, since Rust is truly not designed for that. For example, you could try to flatten the class hierarchy and use shared functions rather than parent classes, or try using enums to hold the data and methods that are specific to the subclasses.

Another thing I would recommend is to try porting and changing the code with the information above in mind, and then post specific examples of things that didn't work out well. The more specific your questions, with code examples, the better answers people will have.

2 Likes

I looked at the java code and it uses inheritance like this:

class A {
//    ... some constants ...
//    ... some fields ...
//    ... some static variables ...
//    ... some methods ...
}

class B extends A {
//    ... some fields ... (may be initialized using B's associated variable and functions)
//    ... some static variables ... (may be initialized using B's associated variable and functions)
//    ... some methods ... (using B's associated variable and functions)
}

class C extends B {