I made a #![no_std] circular buffer using const generics

As a learning exercise, and with the recent stabilization of const generics, I implemented a circular buffer using const generics to have the whole buffer in the structure directly instead of using Box or raw pointers.

There is a lot of unsafe, mainly because the entire buffer contains MaybeUninitalized values. The nightly compiler is required because many APIs of MaybeUninit are still unstable.

It is my first time dealing with unsafe Rust so there are likely a few things I missed, I'd be glad if someone could take a look.

The repository is here on gitlab.

The end result looks like this:

let mut buf = CircularBuffer::<usize, 10>::new();
for i in 0..10 {
    assert!(buf.push_back(i).is_none());
}

for i in 0..10 {
    assert_eq!(i, buf[i as isize]);
}

for i in 0..10 {
    assert_eq!(Some(9 - i), buf.pop_back());
}

assert!(buf.pop_back().is_none());

Thanks!

1 Like

Haven’t looked at it for very long but here’s two things.

The eremc seems like you could try to use isize::rem_euclid. I think that you can easily just drop support for the case of N > isize::MAX (presumably with an assert just to be sure). This isn’t much of a loss since (unless maybe for zero-sized T, I’m not 100% sure there) the compiler will disallow this size of allocation anyway. In this case, converting N into isize and passing the result to isize::rem_euclid should work fine.

You should also take into consideration that (on 32bit platforms), your start and end indices can overflow which will probably (AFAICT) lead to memory unsafety in your current implementation as the wrong element could be accessed / returned.

2 Likes