I can't get the return value to work: Rustlings exercise if1.rs

Hi all, my first post and I'm a beginner so hope this is the appropriate place to post.

I'm doing the rustlings exercise if1.rs which asks to complete a provided function to return the "bigger" of two i32 values. I can't find a way to cover the a==b case.

Here's the code (read the comment I inserted to help clarify).

// if1.rs

// I AM NOT DONE

pub fn bigger(a: i32, b: i32) -> i32 {
    // Complete this function to return the bigger number!
    // Do not use:
    // - another function call
    // - additional variables
    // Execute `rustlings hint if1` for hints

// MY COMMENT: The "if a > b { return a } b" code below is inserted by me.
    // All the rest is the rustlings-provided code.
    // My code works as far as compiling and not returning a smaller value
    //  but isn't technically a correct solution. If a == b it returns b
    // but really should return some indication that there was no
    // "bigger" number. I tried if{}else if{} to return a>b or b>a but when a==b
    // case falls through how would I return some indicator or error message?
    // As provided the function can only return an i32.

if a > b {
        return a
    }
    b
}

// Don't mind this for now :)
#[cfg(test)]
mod tests {
    use super::*;

#[test]
    fn ten_is_bigger_than_eight() {
        assert_eq!(10, bigger(10, 8));
    }

#[test]
    fn fortytwo_is_bigger_than_thirtytwo() {
        assert_eq!(42, bigger(32, 42));
    }
}

If calling bigger(…) with two equal values is supposed to be an error, there’s different ways to indicate such an error. If you’re never supposed to call it like that, then panicking in that case is an option.

if a > b {
    return a;
} else if a < b {
    return b;
} else {
    panic!("the values were the same!");
}