How would I go about properly managing this multithreaded program?

Newbie here,
So I've been working on this program in rust which controls the lighting of the keyboard in my laptop.

The program has two main parts, a file which holds the "backend" for talking to the keyboard made into something resembling a library, and a folder with all the GUI (fltk) separated into files which each correspond to one of the elements of the program. These files are then executed as necessary inside builder.rs to generate the GUI and handle its logic.

Now the important bit comes from keyboard_effect_manager.rs which sits on top of keyboard_utils.rs as a middleman bettween the gui and the keyboard HID device. This is used to both selecting the basic effects and creating custom ones by essentially just spamming requests to change the current color.

The latter requires me to create a separate thread so that it does not lock up the GUI, and here's where the problem resides. My current rather questionable setup consists of two AtomicBools which handle "is a thread running/did the thread stop" (thread_ended_signal) and "the thread needs to end/are we actively stopping a thread" (stop_signal) respectively.

In essence what I want is to:

• Create a thread on demand
  • Run it until a new effect is selected
  • When that happens, tell the thread to break out of the loop its placed in (standard for all custom effects) or just kill it directly
  • Wait until the thread has stopped
  • Update the GUI and start a new thread, repeating the process