How to write plugins in Rust?

I am a C++ developer at first but I used a lot of languages. The question is about plugins - how to write them in Rust? In java I had a project which could open a .jar at runtime and to extend the program functionality by using these jars. In python we could do almost the same thing. In C++ with Qt we can create a QPlugin which does the same thing. In C we may simply use dlopen. In Rust we may open other libs which symbols are unmangled but how can I make a plugin exactly written in rust, inside an a rust library (rlib file) ?

3 Likes

The way you do it is that you set your crate type to dylib (see here Page Moved)

and in order to export symbols without name mangling you do something like this in your code

#[no_mangle]
pub fn shared_fun() -> i32 {
}

Now you can load this library as any other shared library. If you want to load it in Rust I can recommend taking a look at GitHub - nagisa/rust_libloading: Bindings around the platform's dynamic library loading primitives with greatly improved memory safety.

I have written my own lib that I use for loading plugins as well over here GitHub - emoon/dynamic_reload: Dynamic reloading of shared libraries which supports reloading of plugins when they have been recompiled which you may find useful.

6 Likes

So, if I am gonna write a plugin in rust language and use it in rust language my symbols should always be unmangled anyway? I thought it is necessary only for libraries which should provide compatibility to C and other languages which does not know about mangling of the compilers but rust compiler, I am sure, DOES know how it mangle its own names so why do we need #[no_mangle] here?

I don't know about that. The way I do it is to manually load the libraries and have a known (unmanged) symbol to use but that is also because my code supports to load C/C++ plugins so I have to make sure it works in that case also but I'm unsure about the Rust only case.

1 Like