How to use macro for replacing closing curly brace?

Hi all,
I am new to Rust. Please see this C++ code.
"""----------------------------------------------------------------

#define end }; 
#define log(x)  cout << x << endl
#define wait std::cin.get() 

int main() {
     log( "Trying to avoid visual clutter caused by closing curly brace") ;     
     string myStr = "Now, code looks cleaner..." ;
     log(myStr) ;  
     wait ;    
end 
```cpp
"""----------------------------------------------------------------
How can i do this with Rust macros ?
1 Like

You can use

```
Your code here
```

To pretty print your code

1 Like

You want to replace the "visual clutter" of "}" with the bigger, uglier visual clutter of "end"?

That boggles my mind.

2 Likes

"End " is more readable

For C++ formatting use, this forum defaults to Rust syntax highlighting

```cpp
// your code here 
```
1 Like

Oh, okay. Thanks :slight_smile:

1 Like

You can't do this with Rust macros. You can create the log and wait macros, and but not the emd macro. Rust macros are not fancy text replacement.

3 Likes

Well, i can make this more elegant with

#define end_main };
#define end_if } ;

Now, its more readable.

So sad. Then this is the only option for me.

fn main() {
    println!("Hello, world!");

}//end_main

Not sad at all. If people cannot do such things then I won't have to suffer reading code where people do it. I cannot agree that "end_main" and "end_if" are more readable than a simple "}". It's longer, it's uglier, it's redundant.

I think that if you are having difficulty telling which "}" belongs to which "fn", "if" etc then it is a sure sign that your functions are getting too long and complicated and it's time to get things organized properly.

5 Likes