How to use libraries

Hello,
I am new to Rust and trying to understand how to use external libraries. This is a noob question!
For example I want to use this library for an elliptic curve
https://github.com/RustCrypto/elliptic-curves/tree/master/p256
So I cloned the repo I want to use in my disk and then I created a new folder somewhere else named "myproject".
I run then cargo init and edit the Cargo.toml by adding p256 = { path = "/Users/user/elliptic-curves/p256" } under [dependencies].
The main.rs in myproject/src is as follows:

use crate::p256;
fn main() {
    println!("Hello, world!");
}

But I get an error

error: failed to select a version for the requirement `elliptic-curve = "=0.5.0-pre"`
  candidate versions found which didn't match: 0.4.0, 0.3.0, 0.2.0, ...
  location searched: crates.io index
required by package `p256 v0.3.0 (/Users/user/elliptic-curves/p256)`
    ... which is depended on by `myproject v0.1.0 (/Users/user/myproject)`

Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

The book describes how to get dependencies for your project. It only takes another line on your Cargo.toml file, that's all you need to do.

Yes I read it but I can't find this particular library version in crates.io...
The latest version is indeed 0.4.0 but it looks for 0.5.0-pre..
Am I missing something?

Adding p256 = "0.3" just works on my machine. Can you share your current source code and Cargo.toml?

First, why do you want to use your local copy and not the published version?
Second, if you really want to, set Cargo.toml entry as such:

p256 = { version = "version", path = "path" }

where path is, as you already know, a path to your local copy, and version is the version set in the Cargo.toml file inside this copy.