How to "unquote" a string literal

Hello!

TL;DR

What's the best way to convert "r#\"foo\\\"#" to "foo\\"?

I'm quite new to procedural macros (I started coding one today) and I have a question which is probably silly and obvious but I can't seem to find a way to solve it easily.

What I'd like to do is to "unquote" string literals, i.e. obtain their contents and not their string representation. Let me explain.

Let's say that I want to code a function-like procedural macro that takes a string literal and substitutes it with a new string literal obtained from it, for instance by adding * both at the beginning and at the end. I want it to accept both string literals and raw string literals.

Here are a few examples of desired expansions:

my_macro!("foo")      // => "*foo*"
my_macro!(r"foo")     // => r"*foo*"
my_macro!(r#"foo"#)   // => r#"*foo*"#
my_macro!("foo\\")    // => "*foo\\*"
my_macro!(r"foo\")    // => r"*foo\*"
my_macro!(r#"foo\"#)  // => r#"*foo\*"#

Let me add as a further constraint that I'd prefer to use only proc_macro and not other dependencies such as proc_macro2, syn, quote...

Disregarding any error management, the naive solution seems to be the following code:

#[proc_macro]
pub fn my_macro(tokens: TokenStream) -> TokenStream {
    let literal = match tokens.into_iter().next() {
        Some(TokenTree::Literal(l)) => l,
        _ => panic!(),
    };
    let new_string = format!("*{}*", literal);
    let new_literal = proc_macro::Literal::string(&new_string);
    TokenTree::Literal(new_literal).into()
}

From the documentation of proc_macro::Literal, the only way to obtain a representation of the specific literal seems to be to use their impl Display for Literal, either via formatting (as I did in the example) or via impl ToString for Literal.