How to Understand NLL vs. Polonius Borrow Checking? (with example)

Hello, I am a beginner trying to understand the difference between stable borrow checking and Polonius. Why does NLL reject this code, but Polonius allow it? I would also appreciate feedback about style issues in the code itself; likely I am doing many things wrong.

Briefly, NLL does not "realize" that a particular borrow is never used again after my loop scope ends, but Polonius does. Maybe using break to end this loop is the problem? But I really don't understand why: my code appears similar to Walking Down a Data Structure (Problem Case 4) of the NLL RFC, so I expected it to be admitted by the current borrow checker. I did search for visualization tools for borrow checking, but could not find anything easy to use. I tried to find something that would call promising-sounding functions like explain_borrow from rustc_borrowck and build a graph, but couldn't. Any references appreciated.

Anyway, I am doing the Stanford Linked Lists problems with the safe types from Rust With Too Many Linked Lists. I'm working on "insert in sorted order," and I know this solution is wrong --- but it still summarizes my confusion about borrow checking, so I'd like some help with that before I fix all the edge cases. Here are the types:

pub struct List {
    head: Link,
}

type Link = Option<Box<Node>>;

struct Node {
    elem: i32,
    next: Link,
}

Here is the implementation that NLL allows:

pub fn sorted_insert_nll(&mut self, data: i32){
        let mut cur_link = &mut self.head;

while let Some(node) = cur_link {
            // "peek" at next item: rather do it with a reference?
            let next_item = node.next.as_ref().unwrap().elem;
            if data >= node.elem && data <= next_item {
                println!("Place new element between {} and {}",
                         node.elem, next_item);
                let new_node = Box::new(Node {
                    elem: data,