How to structure my code for AST processing

I'm looking into rewriting a compiler in rust at work. Currently it is in JS and we are having performance issues.
I got some experience with rust, but by no means an expert.
I got a lexer and parser working and now I'm working on the next part where we will be mutating the AST ( resolving references, injecting default values etc...)

My data structure so far is I got an array of enums for my nodes and links between the nodes are represented as index into this vector.

struct AstEntity {
	parent: usize
	children: Vec<usize>,
	//... more specific fields
}

struct AstProperty {
	parent: usize
	value: usize,
	//... more specific fields
}

enum Node {
	Entity(AstEntity),
	Property(AstPropert),
	//...more node types here
}

nodes: Vec<Node>

The problem now is that I need to walk this array, mutating nodes as I go, inserting nodes, adding and removing links etc.
This obviously causes issues with the borrow-checker. As an relative newbie I'm tempted to reach for RefCell here, something like this:
nodes : Vec<RefCell<Node>>, maybe even nodes: RefCell<Vec<Refcell<Node>>>, but maybe there is a better way?
Any tips for working with data structures like this?

It looks like all of your nodes can be made Copy, since all memory resources are represented via indices anyway. In that case you don't need to hold live references to the backing vector for any extended amount of time, and no borrow-checker issue arise. Is that a workable solution for your use case?

Alternatively, why don't you use memory allocations for your node (Box, Rc)? If you're writing a compiler, you'd likely need transforming passes anyway, which would mean your Vec either becomes non-contiguous (i.e. many elements will be empty, e.g. None), or each pass would need to create a new vector of nodes. It's quite possible that just using Boxed nodes with a performant memory allocator, like jemalloc, would be enough for your use case. I believe it's good enough for rustc.