How to reuse an FFI interface

I have been working on a dylib that is called from Lua code. Now I need to do a another similar lib and I want to reuse the FFI interface code.

I'm pretty new to Rust and low level programming in general and I was wondering if exists a best or common practice to follow in a case like this. I'm thinking on put the FFI interface (and some other common logic and abstractions) on it's own crate and re-export the interface from the new dylibs. Is it ok to do this?

Do you know a better modularization pattern?

I think in this case it'll entirely depend upon what your FFI interface is doing and how it's been designed. The problem of "how do I make my code reusable?" is applicable to most software development, but FFI does tend to add its own nuances and constraints (e.g. you're limited to a primitive C-style interface, so common tools like generics are out).

One design which comes to mind is having a plugin architecture. Basically, if you're trying to expose the same interface (e.g. different implementations of the same Plugin trait) then you can have a extern "C" fn() which will return a new boxed trait object or vtable. This would mean each implementation of the trait is in its own crate/dylib, with some sort of register_plugin() function that creates a new trait object and gives Lua a pointer to it.