How to reduce usage of unsafe in partial_sort crate?

I found there is no std::partial_sort function in Rust, but I really need that. So I create one from standard c++ implementation.

partial_sort - crates.io: Rust Package Registry

But I need some advice to reduce the usage of unsafe blocks. I'm new to rust, thanks.

I'm not super familiar with C++ STL, but isn't partial_sort just nth_element + sort on the initial subslice?

(Admittedly select_nth_unstable was only stabilized in 1.49, so it's understandable if it escaped your notice.)

1 Like

But it did not make sure T[0,n) is sorted.

let mut v = [-5i32, 4, 1, -3, 2];

// Find the median
v.select_nth_unstable(2);

// We are only guaranteed the slice will be one of the following, based on the way we sort
// about the specified index.
assert!(v == [-3, -5, 1, 2, 4] ||
        v == [-5, -3, 1, 2, 4] ||
        v == [-3, -5, 1, 4, 2] ||
        v == [-5, -3, 1, 4, 2]);

That's why @trentj said + sort.

pub fn partial_sort<T, F: FnMut(&T, &T) -> Ordering>(target: &mut [T], idx: usize, mut cmp: F) {
    let (before, _mid, _after) = target.select_nth_unstable_by(idx, &mut cmp);
    before.sort_unstable_by(cmp);
}
2 Likes

Regarding your code, I feel a little bad about just shooting down your implementation out of the gate, so here are some (hopefully constructive) comments.

I do think there is some unsafe that doesn't look necessary. For instance, sort_heap is an unsafe fn, which seems unnecessary (maybe a holdover from earlier versions?). Removing unsafe from sort_heap lets you shrink the scope of unsafe in partial_sort. Speaking of partial_sort, I think the effort you go to

unsafe {
    for i in last..v.len() {
        if is_less(v.get_unchecked(i), v.get_unchecked(0)) {
            v.swap(0, i);