How to read an integer from stdin

Hello everyone, yesterday I started studying rust because I really like the proposal of this technology, for now I'm in the guessing_game part of the book, after doing these exercises I tried to explore the language a little bit, I tried to make a user input and after that I made a mathematical operation, I did it based on the knowledge of C ++, I would like to know what the error was, moreover, I didn't quite understand the part of the input in rust, while in C ++ a simple cin << solve, in rust it tells me to do a lot of instructions, it is anyway? forgiveness for such a great text, and thank you very much if you can help me.
my code:

use std::io;

fn main() {

let mut x = string::new();

io::stdin()

.read_line(&mut x)

.expect("Failed to read line");

let y=5;z=23;

let mut result;

result = (y*x)/x;

println! ("the result is: {}",result)

}

You need to parse the input string into a number in order to perform arithmetic on it. Something like this should work (untested):

let mut input_line = String::new();
io::stdin()
    .read_line(&mut input_line)
    .expect("Failed to read line");
let x: i32 = input_line.trim().parse().expect("Input not an integer");
let y=5;
let z=23;
let result = (y*x)/x;
println! ("the result is: {}",result);

wow, do you really need all this for an input?

Using only the standard library, yes you’ll probably need these steps. The input_line buffer can be re-used though, and the .expect calls are error handling (there’s “shorter” alternatives such as using the ? operator in a function returning some fitting Result type). So it’s basically just

• make sure to have a buffer (only need to do this one time)