How to "re-run" a Future once it's done?

Hi All,

I have an applications that runs several network services. It roughly goes like this (being a newbie I'm not sure this is the right way to run several futures - please let me know if it doesn't - but it seem to work):

let service1 = Service1Future::new()
let service2 = Service2Future::new()
let service3 = Service3Future::new()

tokio::run(future::lazy(|| {
  tokio::spawn(service1);
  tokio::spawn(service2);
  tokio::spawn(service3);
  Ok(())
}))

I want service1 to be able to restart service2. I thought of using mpsc::channel to send restart notifications, and using select on service2 to stop listening upon receive. I'm not sure how to restart service2 once it stopped though.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Haim

1 Like

The Future type, by design, is one-time-use-only. Once you get a value of out it, you're not allowed to touch it any more.

So you have to design your code differently. For example, make a function that returns you a new service each time. Or make service a permanent object that has run_again() that returns a Future for each run.

4 Likes

Also keep in mind that if you're using any streams, shutdown() and possible ones running in each future for a clean sever of the connection

Thanks @kornel, that was partly a poor choice of words on my side. and partly mis-understanding of the model :slightly_smiling_face:. The thing I'm trying to achieve is a loop around service2 (wether inside or outside run) that waits for it to finish (because of a message) and then spawn a new one.

I have no idea where it's valid to put such a loop (and how to wait for a future to finish).

Thanks @nologik,

shutdown() is for stopping the listener, right? This is next on my list (clean exit) :smile:

You would call shutdown() on a stream, such as a TcpStream

What's wrong with calling tokio::spawn(service2) from service1?