How to parallelize compression

I wrote a compression CLI tool. It uses xz2 for compression, which is single-threaded.

The performance of the tool is terrible with slightly larger files, so I wonder how to compress the data in parallel using the same compression algorithm.

The xz2 crate is a layer of encapsulation of lzma-sys.

But I have no programming experience with multithreading or data parallelism. (I have only used data-parallel libraries like rayon as an API caller)

Could you give me some advice? (Including prerequisite knowledge and implementation ideas to achieve the goal)

1 Like

Whether it is parallelizable or not depends heavily on the algorithm. I would suggest you read up on the underlying algorithm (LZMA algorithm, I believe).
After that, you can figure out how you can parallelize the algorithm (there would probably be well known ways already, its such a popular algorithm).
After that, its a simple matter of implementation - if you have a fixed upper bound on the number of threads you will spawn, you can used std::thread or scoped threads (from crossbeam perhaps). If you need to spawn a number of tasks where the bound isn't "well-known", then you can use a threadpool. Rayon provides one (check the docs).

1 Like

From my very limited experience with general-purpose compression algorithms I can tell you that they often compress data in blocks, since their algorithms are not necessarily linear and thus would result in low performance and high RAM usage on larger datasets.