How to implement simple N-dimensional vector in rust?

I am a newbie to rust. I am trying to create an N-dimensional vector in rust. In that process, I wanted to write a function to get the dimensions of that vector. Below code is not giving what I expected. Any help will be appreciated.

use std::any::Any;

fn main() {
    let input = vec![
        [[1, 2, 3, 4], [1, 2, 3, 4]],
    ];

let transformed_input = input.iter()
    .map(|x| x as &dyn Any)
    .collect::<Vec<&dyn Any>>();

let matrix = Matrix::new(
        transformed_input,
    );
    println!("{:?}", matrix.dimensions());
}

trait MatrixElement {
    fn data(&self) {}
}

impl MatrixElement for isize {}
#[derive(Default, Debug)]
struct Matrix<'a> {
    data: Vec<&'a dyn Any>,
}

impl<'a> Matrix<'a> {
    fn new(data: Vec<&'a dyn Any>) -> Self {
        dbg!(&data);
        Self { data }
    }

fn dimensions(&self) -> Vec<usize> {
        let mut out: Vec<usize> = vec![];
        let mut current_vec = self.data.clone();

while let Some(first_child) = current_vec.first() {
            if let Some(vector) = first_child.downcast_ref::<Vec<&dyn Any>>() {
                //not coming in to this if condition
                out.push(vector.len());
                current_vec = vector.clone();
            } else {
                break;
            }
        }
        out
    }
}

(Playground)

Rust doesn't have multi-dimensional vectors, and without the const generics feature (to be released later this year, maybe) it's hard to make generic code that works for any N.

See the ndarray crate:

1 Like

In your code there's a logic error - first element of a Vec is not the whole Vec itself (x[0] != x). Concrete type of your elements is [[i32; 4]; 2], and that's the only type you can downcast to.