How to implement an Fn/FnMut where the lifetime of the reference to self appears in the return type

Hi folks,
In Fn's and FnMut's, one cannot have the lifetime of the reference to self appear as a parameter in the output. Is there any workaround for this? Would this be possible in the compiler? Is there any prior work in this direction?

It seems like let s = "Foo".to_string(); move || { &s } should be possible to compile and to name!

Alternatives considered

• A potential alternative would be to have a custom struct with implementing a trait with a method fn call_alt_mut<'a>(&'a mut self) -> Foo<'a>. However, as a proc macro author, I cannot create this struct, because (in general) I cannot infer the types of referenced variables. So, this isn't feasible for my use case.
  • Returning an owned struct that uses interior mutability. This is the current workaround.

Is this possible? Any help or pointers would be appreciated!

Playground with demonstration: Rust Playground

Best,
Robert

1 Like

You can have a Box<dyn Deref<Target=str>> (or whichever target you need).

1 Like

Maybe I'm missing something, but how would one write a closure that compiles and returns a reference to a box?

let foo = Box::new("asdf".to_string());
move || { &foo }

Fails to compile for the same reason.

First, this requires GAT.

Second, FnOnce is a supertrait of Fn and FnMut, and it cannot be implemented for this closure. Removing it from being a supertrait will be a breaking change.

However, a new trait may be introduced.

1 Like

Thanks for the response. Now that I thought about this, of course it needs GATs.

I'll read up more about GATs now :slight_smile:

I meant as an alternative "type erased thing that yields references to its contents", like so. I'm unsure that it meets your use-case though.

(You may also want to replace 't with 'static.)