How to idiomatically parse clap's matches, from a lifetime perspective?

In a program of mine, I'd like to isolate the arguments parsing (performed via clap) in a function.

The version I've written works fine. If a better logic saved 200 nanoseconds or 50 bytes, in the context of a regular application I wouldn't care, but since I'm a beginner learning Rust, it's imporant for me to understand how the language works exactly.

The working version is this:

// Receives `env::args().collect()`
// Alternatively, don't receive any argument, and use `get_matches()`.
//
fn parse_commandline_arguments(args: &Vec<String>) -> Vec<String> {
    let matches = App::new("test")
        .setting(AppSettings::TrailingVarArg)
        .arg(
            Arg::with_name("INTERVALS")
                .required(true)
                .index(1)
                .multiple(true),
        )
        .get_matches_from(args);

matches
        .values_of("INTERVALS")
        .unwrap()
        .map(|str|String::from(str))
        .collect::<Vec<String>>()
}

Essentially, I workaround lifetime/borrowing issues by copying the strings (string slices).

Originally though, I tried not to perform such conversion:

fn parse_commandline_arguments<'a>() -> Vec<&'a str> {
  let matches = App::new("compute_hours")
      .setting(AppSettings::TrailingVarArg)
      .arg(
          Arg::with_name("INTERVALS")
              .required(true)
              .index(1)
              .multiple(true),
      )
      .get_matches();

// `matches` doesn't live long enough
  //
  matches
      .values_of("INTERVALS")
      .unwrap()
      .collect::<Vec<&'a str>>()
}

and all hell broke loose.

Is there any way of making the latter version work? Is it more idiomatic? Is there any more idiomatic way?

Thanks!