How to get window owner names via CGWindowListCopyWindowInfo

I am trying to get the window owner names via CGWindowListCopyWindowInfo. So far I have managed to get the CFDictionaryRef but I am unable to use the right pointers for CFDictionaryGetValueIfPresent .

This is the method signature: CoreFoundation_sys::dictionary::CFDictionaryGetValueIfPresent - Rust

const options: CGWindowListOption = kCGWindowListOptionOnScreenOnly + kCGWindowListExcludeDesktopElements;
const ptr_window_list_info: CFArrayRef = unsafe { CGWindowListCopyWindowInfo(options, kCGNullWindowID) as CFArrayRef };

const count = unsafe { CFArrayGetCount(ptr_window_list_info) };

for i in 0..count-1 {
    let dic_ref = CFArrayGetValueAtIndex(ptr_window_list_info, i) as CFDictionaryRef;
    //let key = CFString::new("kCGWindowOwnerName");
    let b = CFDictionaryGetValueIfPresent(dic_ref, ?, ?);
    println!("window owner name: {}", value);
}

I am new to Rust and would appreciate any help.

You should call it exactly as if you were to call it in C, ie. pass the key (which is itself a pointer), and pass a pointer to a previously-declared pointer, which will be populated with a pointer to the value (if it exists), i.e.:

let mut value: *const c_void = ptr::null();
CFDictionaryGetValueIfPresent(dict, key as *const c_void, &mut value);

By the way, you probably want to loop over the range 0..count. The .. operator creates a half-open interval, its upper bound is exclusive.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer. I have adjusted my code but receiving a crash when executing CFDictionaryGetValueIfPresent.

let key: CFString = CFString::new("kCGWindowOwnerName");
let key_ptr: *const CFString = &key;

let mut value: *const c_void = std::ptr::null();

let b = unsafe { CFDictionaryGetValueIfPresent(dic_ref, key_ptr as *const c_void, &mut value) };

Do you see any reason why it would crash?