How to get started with working on ASTs

Hi, another !rust-specific question, but I'm asking here anyways because you people are so awesome.

I'm a self taught programmer. I know some basic structures like Arrays, Vectors, Linked lists, Stacks, Queues, Disjoint sets, Red-Black trees, AVL trees, Adjacency list and matrix etc. My ultimate goal is to work with abstract syntax trees. But I don't know to implement algorithms like Shortest Path, Kruskal, Prim, Aho-corasic, Greedy, KMP, Boyer-Moore etc. What book should I pick up?

I've been reading SICP (JS adaption because too lazy to learn scheme) but I am not sure it's going to help. I want to work with data structures like piece-table, want to implement my own text editor with modern features, I want to do something like the xi-editor. I just want to roll my own GTK based editor with built-in terminal panel (I know GTK), so I have to know about parsing, lexing ASTs.

I've been told to pick up CLRS, but practically speaking, finishing up CLRS will take me a very long time. I don't mind investing time but I want to gain and practice relevant structures and architectures.

Thanks in advance.

I'm not sure if shortest path or Kruskal are crucial algorithms for working with abstract syntax trees? If you wish to learn e.g. Kruskal's algorithm, I recommend you just look it up and try to implement it in practice.

I don't really know any books on the matter, but maybe you should just try implementing it and see if you get stuck?

Where did you learn these algorithms from? From uni?

I guess Kruskal's algorithm won't be all that necessary but I don't know a thing about Lexing/Parsing. Maybe I'll have to pick up the legendary dragon book which kinda intimidates me :sweat_smile:

I didn't study CS, but math. It sounds like you already have a book on the subject? Just give that book a try then, and remember, you learn by doing.