How to get start/end line number of functions(with InnerAttribute) in non-inline module from attribute proc macro

Hi everyone!

I am a newbie to Rust programming. As a exercise, I wanted to write a program like a little lint which would check the length of functions, and if the length is greater than the default max length, emit a warning.

So I used attribute proc macro and used it as a InnerAttribute( just did not want to write the attribute for each single function).

Here is the cargo.toml file for my attribute proc macro lib named lint_fn_len:

[package]
name = "lint_fn_len"
version = "0.0.0"
authors = ["David"]
description = "exericse for attribute proc macro "
edition = "2018"

[lib]
proc-macro = true

[dependencies]
quote = "1"
proc-macro2 = "1.0"
syn = { version = "1.0.72", features = ["full"] }

Here is the lib.rs file for lint_fn_len:

#![feature(proc_macro_span)]

use proc_macro::TokenStream;
use quote::ToTokens;
use syn::{parse_macro_input, ItemFn, ItemMod, spanned::Spanned};

#[proc_macro_attribute]
pub fn my_attribute(_args: TokenStream, input: TokenStream) -> TokenStream {
    let input1 = input.clone();
    let mod1 = parse_macro_input!(input1 as ItemMod);

for item1 in mod1.content.unwrap().1 {
        if let Ok(func1) = syn::parse::<ItemFn>(item1.to_token_stream().into()) {
            let sp1 = func1.block.span().unwrap();

println!("end line number: {} , start line number: {}", sp1.end().line, sp1.start().line);
            let numbers = sp1.end().line - sp1.start().line;

if numbers > 5 {
                println!(
                    "Function {} is too long, count of line number is {} > 5 which is default max",
                    func1.sig.ident.to_string(),
                    numbers
                );
            };
        }
    }
    input
}

Here is the cargo.toml file for long_fn project which is the user of attribute proc macro:

[package]
name = "long_fn"
version = "0.1.0"
edition = "2018"

[dependencies]