How to drive/wake up a Future with an hardware interrupt

Hi there,

I'm quite new to Rust and trying to understand the Future concepts. So far I'm trying to proof my knowledge while implementing a small embedded/bare metal no_std Future "runtime".
I'm currently stuck at a certain point.
I understand that the Future is polled whenever the Waker is notified to poll the Future for the next time.
I've seen many examples where this is triggered inside the poll function like so:

fn poll(&mut self, ctx: &Context) -> Poll<Self::Output> {        
        match self.counter {
            10 => Poll::Ready(10),
            _ => {
                self.counter += 1;
                ctx.waker().wake();
                Poll::Pending
            }
        }
    }

So the waker to poll the Future again is given in the context to the poll function from the Executor.
In my scenario I'd like to wait for an interrupt to trigger the waking of the Future. What is a good solution for this?
The interrupt handler is a function that does not know about the instance of the Future that would like to get woken up. How could I link the Waker given by the poll function to a signal/semaphore/flag the Interrupt handler is able to set? Or am I getting the concepts wrong and need to deal with the interrupt handler and the waking in the Executor?

Any hint would be much appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

1 Like

This example isn't very good, because it's completely synchronous and misses the key point. If your future is not ready, you have to save a copy of the Waker for later. In your case it'd probably be some global array.

You can't call wake() from an interrupt, so you'll need another level of indirection. You'll need a thread that waits for an interrupt somehow, and then call wake() on all previously saved wakers.

Hi,

thx for the response. So to get your proposal right it would look like this in pseudo code:

static IRQ_WAKER: &Waker;

fn irq_handler() {
    WAKER_TO_WAKE.push(IRQ_WAKER);
}