How to define generic trait or function that accept only certain types

Hi,
New to rust. Actually try to learn rust. I have some background in c++.
While read the documentation I try to make small programs to learn faster and more efficiently.
Didn't find a way to compare floating point numbers with std crates and decide to write my own

use std::num;

trait FloatComparator {
    fn equal(self, other : Self) -> bool;
}

impl<T: impl Float>  FloatComparator for T {

fn equal(self, other : Self) -> bool
    {
        Self::abs(self - other) <= T::EPSILON
    }
}

Not sure if this is the right direction but while internet says that there should be trait Float in std::num my version of rust says that such a thing do not exist.
Can you explain me how to achieve that thing in proper way (compare floating points number)
And also tell me how to define generic trait that accept types that implement certain trits

According to the IEEE 754 floating-point standard, floating-point numbers cannot be compared equal because of NaNs, which according to the standard can't be compared. That's why there is no equal operator for floating point, in Rust or C or any other language that conforms to the standard.

Assuming you know what you're doing by comparing floating point values and dealing with NaN values, you're on the right track. See https://play.rust-lang.org/?version=stable&mode=debug&edition=2018&gist=e5e7822638997eecc21341664b39a310. You'll notice that:

• Float is defined in the num-traits crate;
  • You have to use the full path up-to Float (use std::num if it worked would allow you to use num such as in num::Float);
  • You do not want the impl in the type constraint;
  • Float::epsilon() gives you what you want;
  • the final ; after the comparison makes the result (), remove it to return the value.

Hope this helps.

No, you can compare them but it's not good idea because of the inherit error in them.