How to create a int-slice that filters elements greater than X of the underlying array?

I'd like to create a slice that only accesses elements up to x, where x is some element in the underlying vector. We create slices by index, not value. The Rust book, slice chapter, does something similar to what I'd like in an example:

fn first_word(s: &String) -> &str {
    let bytes = s.as_bytes();
    for (i, &item) in bytes.iter().enumerate() {
        if item == b' ' {
            return &s[0..i];
        }
    }
    &s[..]
}

Which I've adapted to throw into main,

for (i, &item) in v_int[..200].iter().enumerate() {
        if item > 1000 {
            let v_lt1000 = &v_int[0..i];
            break;
        }
    }

Though obviously, if I'd like to use v_int later I'm out of luck, since v_lt1000 will go out of scope. I could solve this by just throwing everything in a function, but suppose I'm stubborn and want to do it in main. How do I create that slice?

PS. This is my first time posting here. I read the Community Guidelines, but if I did something wrong, yell at me.

Post edit,
I considered using some functional tools. The following does what I'd like it to.

let v_temp = &v_int[..200]; // 200 an estimate index, just to shorten computation
    let vlt = v_temp
        .iter()
        .filter(|&&x| x < 1000)
        .collect::<Vec<&u32>>();

If someone has another solution, I'd still be interested to know it.

Is your input (v_int) in sorted order?
In that case, you could do:

let vlt = v_int()
     .iter()
     .copied()
     .take_while(|x| x < 1000)
     .collect::<Vec<_>>();

That would be the way I would do it for copy types like a u32.
You could adapt your original solution like so:

let v_lt1000;
    for (i, &item) in v_int[..200].iter().enumerate() {
        if item > 1000 {
            v_lt1000 = &v_int[0..i];
            break;
        }
    }

But that would be substantially less rusty, and they would likely to compile to (more or less) the exact same code.