How to Create a Global, Mutable Vector

Hello Rust Community!

I'm trying to create a ToDo Application, for now, it's a simple task app that has a single struct (task).

Ask: I need to start keeping the full list of tasks somewhere, so the user can query the full list of tasks, and eventually filter them. However, I'm having trouble creating something that the compiler allows.

I'm new to rust in general, so thank you for your patience

pub mut all_tasks = vec![];

pub struct Task {
    name: String,
    completed: bool,
    priority: u8, //will be 1-5, 1 being highest
}

pub fn create_task() -> Task {
    let new_task = Task {
        name: String::from("Test Task"),
        completed: false,
        priority: 5,
    };
    all_tasks.push(new_task);
    return new_task;
}

As you can see, i'm trying a very simple format where I create a global vector (since it should only have tasks inside of it) and upon the creation of a new task, I want to be able to add the new task to the vector, and change the tasks by searching within this vector.

Am I just going about this wrong? or is there an easy way to get this format to work?

Thank you in advance for your patience and expertise.

1 Like

It’s usually a better idea idea to define a TaskList struct that contains your vector and the operate on it via the self parameter:

pub struct TaskList(Vec<Task>);

pub struct Task {
    name: String,
    completed: bool,
    priority: u8, //will be 1-5, 1 being highest
}

impl TaskList {
    pub fn create_task(&mut self) -> &Task {
        let new_task = Task {
            name: String::from("Test Task"),
            completed: false,
            priority: 5,
        };
        self.0.push(new_task);
        return &self.0[self.0.len()-1];
    }
}