How to connect to a serial device

Hello,

I'm pretty new to Rust and I thought I gonna start with some things I once coded in other languages. To get started I chose a small program. I just want to connect to a UART device write and read to it, but I cannot get it to work. I use https://crates.io/crates/serialport library. This is my code:

use std::time::Duration;
use std::io::Write;

fn main() {
    let mut port = serialport::new("/dev/ttys002", 115_200).open_native().expect("Failed to open port").expect("Failed to open.");
    let output = "This is a test. This is only a test.".as_bytes();
    port.write(output).expect("Write failed!");   
}

I mean it is a simple example but I keep getting the following error:

thread 'main' panicked at 'Failed to open port: Error { kind: Unknown, description: "Not a typewriter" }', src/main.rs:5:75

Does /dev/ttys002 exist? Do you have permission to access it?

Yep, that's the port socat opened up.

What OS are you on? Is it Windows Subsystem for Linux by any chance? It loooks like WSL is unsupported at the moment and people get the same "not a typewriter" error: Windows Subsystem for Linux (WSL) Port '/dev/ttySX' not available: Not a typewriter (#52) · Issues · Bryant / serialport-rs · GitLab

2 Likes

MacOS BigSur Version 11.1 (20C69) and the latest Rust version:

rustc 1.47.0

:thinking: I think I gonna give it a go on Ubuntu it should be possible to get such a small piece of code running, hopefully :slightly_smiling_face:

That's definitely a solid idea. Apple have been doing some pretty funny business around revoking permissions of files located in system directories. I wouldn't be surprised if Big Sur was programmed to silently deny TTY connections with a misleading error message to everything except their own apps.

I am on Big Sur myself, so I'll try to reproduce the error on my own machine.

I don't think this is the underlying problem but latest stable Rust is 1.49.0, you might want to run rustup update stable.