How to choose an owned vs. borrowed struct member

Rust newbie and generally a pointer newbie here, so please excuse if this is obvious.

I am trying to wrap my head around when to appropriately choose a owned vs. a borrowed struct member. Let's make this concrete. Suppose I have a struct like this:

pub struct Endpoint {
    pub uri: String,
    pub methods: Vec<String>, // e.g. "GET", "POST"
}
impl Endpoint {
    pub fn new(uri: String, methods: Vec<String>) -> Endpoint {
        Endpoint {
            uri: normalize_uri(uri),
            methods,
        }
    }

The struct may be instantiated from the command line, thus we don't know what the uri is at compile-time. However, when we instantiate it we normalize the uri with a normalize_uri function. I don't expect that the uri will be written to after this. For simpicity's sake, the normalize_uri function looks something like this:

fn normalize_uri(uri: String) -> String {
    let re = Regex::new(r"^/|/$").unwrap();
    re.replace_all(&uri, "").to_string()
}

replace_all returns Cow<'t, str>. As I said I'm not at all experienced in any of this, but I assume replace_all returns this "Cow" to give the caller flexibility as to whether the returned data is owned or borrowed.

So, now we have a endpoint struct that has a uri member that has to come in as an allocated String, which is passed to a function that calls another function that returns a Cow, which is then allocated again? by calling to_string(). This doesn't seem right to me, nor efficient. Though perhaps there is no extra allocation when to_string is called on a Cow<str>?

Now in this case, extra heap allocations (if there are indeed any) probably don't matter, because the grand majority of time and resources this program will spend will be in network IO, but regardless I am using this as a learning experience so I am curious about best-practices and idiomatic rust. TIA.

1 Like