How to bypass "cannot borrow as mutable more than once"?

Hi there!

I am really new to Rust, but I would love to use it as a web server.

I encounter issues regarding mutable reference borrowing (using Iron, but my issue is general).

The action called by Iron after routing is as follows:

pub fn hello(req: &mut Request) -> IronResult<Response>

I would like to call a centralized code in an struct of mine, that checks the request headers and returns a response in case of error (and I won't duplicate this code in each and every action I will have to write)

This is my method:

pub fn init(&mut self, req: &mut Request)

I call it (inside "hello()") like this:

req.extensions.get_mut::<App>().unwrap().init(req);

But Rust does not like it and it tells me:

error: cannot borrow `*req` as mutable more than once at a time
note: previous borrow of `req.extensions` occurs here; the mutable borrow prevents subsequent moves, borrows, or modification of `req.extensions` until the borrow ends
note: previous borrow ends here (end of function)

How am I supposed to do this? I have spent hours reading the doc and browsing the web, but to no avail. Can't I just call a function and give it my reference? I thought I could, since the init() method ends and returns the (temporary) ownership of the reference back to the hello() method... It means that only one method can actually use that reference at a given time. Right?

Any tips to help me better understand what I am doing wrong and the proper way to do it, would be much appreciated!

Sincerely,

The problem is that you're trying to lend req to init while it is still lent to get_mut. If you look at the signatures, you'll see:

fn get_mut<K>(&mut self) -> Option<&mut K::Value>

Meaning the result depends on borrowing self, which in this case is req.extensions, which in turn means the entirety of req is borrowed.