How to build a news feed like in Facebook with Rust?

Hello, I am new to Rust,

I am thinking of building an news feed in Rust, I think Rust is highly suitable to build something like that. I want to build something like https://getstream.io/ . Only problem that I see with getstream.io is that data reside in somewhere else, other than that it's great.

I have searched for such news feed projects in Rust, but found non.
My question is what crates should I use in order to speed up development? Should I use a web framework like Actix-web?

Please help.

Actix-web is pretty nice, and comes with a bunch of convenient built-ins for parsing requests and building responses. It's a good choice for most websites and APIs.

Actix-web can be used with either one request per thread (good for short lived or CPU-bound processing), or with futures for cooperative multitasking (good for long-lived I/O-bound processing). If you're new to Rust, I'd suggest avoiding futures, since the easy async/await interface isn't available yet, and the current one requires more Rust experience.

Have you implemented something like that before? When learning a new language it's best to start with a problem you know well. If you're building something new in a new language, that might be too many unknowns.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. Although I have not dealt with this particular problem of before, Its worth giving a try, so I could learn a lot from it. Lets give actix-web a chance for first round :slightly_smiling_face:

The whole point is how you'll store/index the activities in the db (use existing db or create your own). Do you have a plan here ?

While the web-layer can be in whatever.

1 Like

@ddorian43 thanks for the reply.

Yeah DB is the bottleneck in this case, when I asked getstream.io they are using rocksdb which is also used by the Linkedin. You could read more about, how getstream do things here

I did find a rust wrapper for rocksdb, I do not think it is regularly maintained.