How to become a Rust ninja? 🥷

Hi,

I am considering myself a newbie or maybe a just little expert than a newbie :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: even if I am buzzing around Rust since years, but I've always used it just to make little experiments, exercises and little stuff.

I've studied Rust on the holy Rust book and now I am studying on Jim Blandy's book (almost finished).

Lastly I've decided to work on a little game just to get more into Rust and while posting some questions here (BTW thank you for your great support :clap: and patience :blush:) I have realized that there are lot of important concepts/language features in Rust that I was completely missing, such as:

• Subtyping and variance
  • dyn Trait is a concrete type
  • for<'a>
  • impl Trait
  • T: 'a
  • Difference between subtype and implementors
  • Returning an iterator in a proper way
  • Anonymous lifetime

This kind of things are not explained (or even mentioned) in any books that I read, and I am trying to find some good documents explaining in a clear way, but I am struggling to find them.
I think Nomicon is maybe too advanced for some topics for me, I mean it takes for granted that the reader has lot of experience and that's not my case.

So I was wondering which resource (book, posts, ...) or maybe training path you would suggest in order to really understand how Rust works and be capable to build a big project without struggling each minute to get why compiler complains about on every two lines of code :woozy_face: (and avoiding trial-and-error approach).

Thank you!

9 Likes

For some of the specific things you mention, check out these:

The nomicon and jonhoo also have chapters/videos on other topics, which you may also find interesting. I wouldn't be scared about reading the nomicon, though some chapters are better than others.