How to avoid layers of repetition of `else { None }` with extracting values

Hi all,

I'm a hobbyist that is slowly going through the proc macro workshop, just for fun.

I have the first handful of tests on the Builder project working, but I keep running into a pattern that makes me think that there is a more idiomatic alternative that I'm missing: setting an Optional<T> with layers of match and if let that result in layers and layers of else { None }.

For example. (or the most recent version, with else { Ok(None) } repeated instead.)

It seems that if trying to match target == 42 that is embedded several layers deep in some struct with mixed Optionals and sequences etc. on the way down that there is probably a better way to do several matches without having to keep saying else { None } for every alternative path. Right?

I keep thinking that there is probably some way to .map or .and_then my way to a cleaner approach, but the sequences and match guards seem to keep interfering with chaining them, and AFAICT there's no way around that.

TIA for any suggestions!

1 Like

One way (that I can think of now at midnight) I've handled those cases is by writing a fallible closure inside the infallible function to able to use the ? operator (this is an example from my recent answer to a thread on r/learnrust which is why I remember it) :

fn extract_name(path: &Path) -> &str {
    static PATTERN: Lazy<Regex> =
        Lazy::new(|| Regex::new(...).unwrap());
    // this closure is fallible, so it can make use of `?`
    let capture = || {
        let stem = path.file_stem()?.to_str()?;
        let caps = PATTERN.captures(stem)?;
        Some(caps.get(1)?.as_str())
    };
    capture().unwrap_or("untitled")
}

I've also done it here for something public a bit a more involved. I think I've first seen that last year in a tweet ? It probably should belong in Rust Patterns.

3 Likes

Thanks for the suggestion! I was about to propose something like this but you beat me to it.