How to Add Cross-Compile Target for Offline System without Rustup

Hello all!

I hope all is well with everyone. I have been struggling with attempting the following and would appreciate insight (please consider that I am rather new to Rust so patience is appreciated):

I have an offline system that I would like to cross-compile Rust code on. Whilst I could plop files to/from the offline system, the system must be offline.

Rust does offer an offline installer for such an offline system, but there is a catch: there is no rustup as part of that offline installer as Rustup is heavily reliant on internet access. This is proving to be an issue with cross-compilation as Rustup is typically used to acquire a desired target.

Moreover, this is what I would like insight on: how can I add a target for cross-compiling on an offline system that does not have Rustup, if it is even possible? If it is a matter of having rustup on a seperate online system, getting the target and then moving files to the offline system then I would appreciate guidance on what files to grab and how to point to them in the offline system?

Thanks in advance!

Can you install everything to an online system then transfer the .cargo folder to the offline system?

1 Like

Probably also the .rustup folder, since I think that's where the toolchains are installed

2 Likes

If you read the stable manifest, then you can find the url for pkg.rust.target.* for your host toolchain, and pkg.rust-std.target.* for the standard library for your cross-compilation targets. Extract those and run their install script into a common --prefix, and you'll have a sysroot just like what rustup installs.

3 Likes

(post deleted by author)

1. Do the architecture matter for the online system (as an example, if the offline system is X86 Linux then would the online system also need to be X86 Linux)?

2. Where could I expect the .cargo and .rustup folders to be for Linux?