How to access to outer struct from nested struct?

even though I'm new to Rust, I already know that the following code block is totally incorrect, but I'm writing it anyway because I think it's clear what I'm trying to do:

#[derive(Debug)]
struct OData {
    of1: i32,
    of2: String,
    of3: IData,
};

#[derive(Debug)]
struct IData {
    if1: char,
    if2: String,
    if3: &mut OData,
}

I would like to be able to read and modify an instance of the OData struct from a struct nested in it. Can you help me? Thank you

If you're trying to create a data structure with "back links", where the IData points to the OData that owns it, you can't use references and in general you're probably going to have a bad time. That said, one way to do so is with a Weak Rc (or Arc).

Consider refactoring instead, so that your references are short-lived temporaries.

struct ODataInner {
    of1: i32,
    of2: String,
}

struct OData {
    inner: ODataInner,
    of3: IData,
}

struct IData {
    if1: char,
    if2: String,
}

impl OData {
    fn do_something(&mut self, thing: String) {
        self.of3.do_something(&mut self.inner, thing);
    }
}

impl IData {
    fn do_something(&mut self, parent: &mut ODataInner, thing: String) {
    }
}
1 Like

First of all, thank you for your time and your response.

I hadn't thought of such a refactoring, and from now on, I will add it to my toolbox.

However, it doesn't exactly meet the constraints imposed by my problem. Moreover, if you'd like, I am curious to understand the solution you mentioned (which seems to require the use of Weak Rc or Arc). Not only could it satisfy the constraints of the problem, but it could also be a source of further knowledge for me.

In any case, after a quick and superficial reflection, I realize that using smart pointers would require the data to reside on the heap (at the moment, I'm not sure if this could be a problem in my case).

Thank you anyway, regardless of whether you respond to me or not.