How far to take iterators to avoid `for` loops

I'm still very new to rust, but I've read through the vast majority of the book. I just started working on a bioinformatics crate to leverage toward my day job. I'm working on a simple biological sequence (ie DNA, etc) parser, one function of which changes a DNA sequence into its complementary sequence (eg A -> T). Based on my prior python knowledge, my first thought is a set of nested for loops and they do in fact do the trick....

Note self.sequence is just a String such as "ATCGGGCAT"

fn complement(&self) -> String {
        let pairs =  vec![['A','T'], ['T','A'], ['C','G'], ['G','C'], ['N','N']];
        let out = String::new()
        for base in self.sequence.to_uppercase().chars() {
            for pair in pairs.iter() {
                if base == pair[0] {
                    out.push(pair[1]);
                }
            }
        }
        out
    }

However, the book and the community are always emphasizing the awesome power of rust iterators, and I want to get on board! So... I wrote of a chain of nested iterators that also does the job...

fn complement(&self) -> String {
    let pairs = vec![['A', 'T'], ['T', 'A'], ['C', 'G'], ['G', 'C'], ['N', 'N']];
    let out = self.
        sequence
        .to_uppercase()
        .chars()
        .map(|base| {
            pairs
                .iter()
                .filter(|[l, _c]| l == &base)
                .map(|[_l, c]| c)
                .collect::<String>()
        })
        .collect::<String>();
    out
}

But when I Iook at this is looks dangerously close to a case of K.I.S.S (ie Keep It Simple Stupid) and my central question is... Are the iterators worth it in this case? That is, is there a performance increase? Or really, is it just better rust? On a related note, I might be completely overdoing the Iterator method calls and maybe there's a far more concise way to do this with iterators. Thanks for your help and insight.