How do tuples and arrays work compared to Lua's tables?

Heyo!

I'm a beginner programmer, and am learning Rust. I originally started with Lua, and was able to get a good grasp on tables before deciding to try out Rust

Some Explination:

In Chapter 3.2 (Data Types), they explain Tuples and Arrays a little.

When I was learning how tables worked, I found two posts [1] [2] on Stack Overflow that were really interesting and informative about how it works.

To summarize them:

In Lua, everything is by default assigned as "null", and so doesn't exist. As soon as you assign it to something else, it exists as that value.

When you declare a table, it is essentially a sea of infinite nulls. As soon as you define something in that table, the key for it (by default it's in the array part of the table and given an index value as the key, or if you assign a key it's put in the hash part of the table) is assigned the value instead of a null. So there is no way to delete or remove a variable- only reassigning it to a null.

I realized that my understanding of tables will probably influence how I grasp tuples and arrays. So if there's any differences it will probably cause me confusion, and I would rather ask sooner than later and stop that if I can.

My main question:

From the understanding of how Lua tables work, what would be a good way to think about how tuples and arrays work in Rust?

There isn't really a type in Rust that maps directly to Lua tables. HashMap is close, but it's homogenous over the key and value types that it stores. In other words, you cannot have a HashMap that has both string and integer keys, or whose values are strings, integers, and structs of various shapes. Enums let you cheat a little bit if you really need some kind of duck typing, but they do make it a little harder to work with.

Like a Lua table, getting a key that doesn't exist in a HashMap returns None. So, in some sense an empty HashMap is "a sea of infinite Nones".