How do I save a environment variable into HashMap?

Hi,

I'm having a HashMap like below:

pub struct Record {
    env: Option<HashMap<&'static str, &'static str>>,
}

How can I save a environment variable into that Record.env dict? like this?

let env = self.env.get_or_insert(HashMap::new());
env.insert("SHELL", "powershell.exe");
let term: String = env::var("TERMINAL_EMULATOR").unwrap_or("UnKnown".to_string());
env.insert("TERM", &term);

I've been searching around online for several hours. And found some answers that suggest that I should use HashMap<String, String> instead of HashMap<&str, &str> and there was even a PR that updates the official Rust exmaples to use HashMap<String> instead of &str.

I'm just new to Rust and super curious is that possible to save the env var into a HashMap<&str, &str> and if it can, why is it so hard?

If not, why? as I can easily save string literals, which is &static str if I'm not wrong, into the HashMap.

Assuming that I'm having the correct under standing of String and &str: basically &str is a char * and String is just a "boxed string" object

Thanks,

You can't put it in a HashMap<_, &'static str> because it isn't 'static - env::var returns a String, which you have to keep ownership of alive. That's why you can use a HashMap<&'static str, String>:

ev.insert("SHELL", "powershell.exe".to_string());
let term = env::var("TERMINAL_EMULATOR").unwrap_or("Unknown".to_string());
ev.insert("TERM", term);

Rust makes this hard because not all OSes give static references to environment variables - Windows, for instance, requires you give it a buffer to fill the environment variable value with, and that buffer's lifetime has to be maintained by someone.

1 Like

thanks @asymmetrikon

to follow up:

is there anyway to make the String to be 'static ?

If I dare to ask more, why would a language implementation be limited/strict by the way the OS API?