How do I know that I know enough?

This might sound like a dumb question but what is a good benchmark to know that I "know" Rust? So far I have read the Rust Book, done some mini projects, tried to use the provided tools such as cargo fmt and clippy to improve my code and generally attempted to make it more idiomatic. But I still don't feel confident that I know much especially without googling around to find the answer. What is a good benchmark to know that I am at least an intermediate level Rust developer?

1 Like

I would worry less about knowing everything upfront before starting a project, and just dive in. When you get stuck (which you will), use your ability to Google to find the knowledge you need to continue.

Programming is a craft - books will only teach you the basics and it's experience that hones your knowledge into mastery (and confidence).

I'm still learning new patterns or libraries, even after programming for over a decade and writing Rust for 7+ years. You can never "know enough" in tech because it's constantly evolving and reinventing itself.

11 Likes

Thanks for the reply. Just a nitpick. I don't wait to know everything up-front, I am okay with diving in without knowing all the details and learn as I go. But in general I want to have a benchmark or end-goal to set for myself. This could be anything that proves that I have a given level of competency.

For me, this generally takes the form of a working project that's useful in its own right (vs. just as an exercise). Picking such a project to embark on is, of course, an exercise for the reader.

5 Likes