How can I use the crate Rayon to multiply a matrix by a vector?

Hello, I am a beginner in rust and I would like to make faster the multiplication of a matrix by a vector with the crate Rayon.

Here is the original code:

fn multiply(matrix: Vec<Vec<f64>>, vector: Vec<f64>) -> Vec<f64> {

let mut result: Vec<f64> = vec![0.0; matrix.len()];

for i in 0..= matrix.len() - 1 {
        let mut x: f64 = 0.0;
        for j in 0..= vector.len() - 1 {
            x = (vector[j] * matrix[i][j]) + x;
        }
        result[i] = x;
    }
    return result;
}

I have many difficulties using Rayon to make this code work in parallel, here one of my unsuccessful attempts:

fn sum_of_squares(matrix: &Vec<Vec<f64>>, vector: &Vec<f64>) -> Vec<f64> {
    matrix.par_iter().for_each(
        |matrix: Vec<f64>|
            vector.par_iter()
                .map(|&j| j * matrix[j])
                .sum()
            )
}

I would be grateful if someone could help me to understand how to deal with vectors and matrices using Rayon.

If you care about performance, you should look for a parallel blas library.

If this is for educational purposes, you want to store the matrix as a vector of rows. Then, each of the '.par_iter().map(...)' computes a dot product, which you collect into a Vec<f32>

Don't use Vec<Vec. This is not a 2d matrix. It's a jagged array, and it adds cost of indirection and extra redundant data for each row. You should use 1d Vec (or fixed-length array) indexed by [row * size + column] instead. Then you can use onedimvec.chunks_exact(size) to get an iterator of rows. You can't get an iterator of columns a without writing a custom unsafe iterator.

Rayon needs the tasks to be big. In my tests anything below 10000 operations is slower with rayon, because cost of launching a task is larger than savings from parallelizing it. Use it only if your matrices are very big, otherwise it won't make sense.

I recommend using existing crates for this, maybe this:

or