How can I make my data live as long as String::as_bytes()?

I'm still learning Rust. I couldn't figure out how to make my bytes live long enough, so please help.

// This code works fine,
for i in 0..n {
  let bytes = "test".as_bytes();
  builder.add(&bytes);
}
builder.build();

// But, this code doesn't work
struct Content {}
impl Content {
  fn to_data(&self) -> Result<Vec<u8>, ()> {
    Ok("test".as_bytes().to_vec())
  }
}
for i in 0..n {
  let bytes = Content {}.to_data().unwrap();
  builder.add(&bytes);
}
builder.build();

The second code above tells me the error,

borrowed value does not live long enough.
}
- bytes dropped here while still borrowed
builder.build();
----- borrow later used here

I think the first code "let bytes = "test".as_bytes();" also drops at the same position, but Rust compiler says nothing about it.
If the first one is okay, I want the second bytes "let bytes = Content {}.to_data().unwrap();" to live as long as the first code does.

"builder" is a struct created by somebody else, so I don't want to change the function's parameters.

Thank you in advance!

In the first part of the code, you're working with a string literal. Literals are a bit special, so you don't run into lifetime issues. "test".as_bytes() lives forever, so it has 'static lifetime and you can pass it around without restrictions.

In the second part of the code, the bytes from the string literal are copied to a vector (Vec<u8>), and then you try to borrow the vector's data and pass it to the builder. But the vector's data only lives for as long as the vector lives. The vector is dropped at the end of each iteration of the loop, so you can't access its data later.