How can I make a wrapper function for a STM32 HAL library?

Hi,

I am new to Rust, and I have a question about how I can create a function that wraps up 'block!(tx.write( b'\r' )).ok();' specifically in the code below.

fn main() -> ! {
//...
    let serial = Serial::usart2( p.USART2, (tx, rx), 115_200.bps(), clocks, &mut rcc.apb1r1 );
    let ( mut tx, mut _rx ) = serial.split();

block!(tx.write( b'\r' )).ok();
//...
}

The code in the above is from an example of STM32 HAL, I would have made a function that takes a reference to either serial or tx to call tx.write( ) inside something like :

fn send_byte<T>( tx : &mut T, byte : u8 ) {
    block!(tx.write( byte )).ok();
}

However, for both being generic types, it's so difficult to implement such a wrapper due mainly to my lack of experience and knowledge in Rust.

Here's additional information:

Can anyone suggest a simple way to do that?

Thanks,

please be specific or provide a link. there are a many different flavored HALs for stm32, and each has their own opinionated style of doing things.

without any information about the library, I would suggest the "extract function" code action of rust-analyzer. check your editor's document on how to activate LSP code actions, for example, in vscode default key binding is CTRL . ("ctrl" and "dot"), you select the line and trigger the code action, there' should be a pop up menu with an entry of "extract into function" or similar.

Here's the link to the example source code in GitHub:

Also, I've tried this,

use crate::hal::serial;
//...
fn send_bytes_wait<T: serial::Write<u8>>( tx: T, byte: u8) {
    tx.write( b'\n' );
}

but what the compiler says is:

84 | fn send_bytes_wait<T: serial::Write<u8>>( tx: T, byte: u8) {
   |                               ^^^^^ private trait

As it indicates, it seems like trying to make use of that trait itself is not allowed being a private one. Now I wonder if there will be any realistic simple solution to what I want to have.