How can I convert an u64 into a native byte order &str?

Hi, guys! I'm new to Rust.

How can I convert an u64 into a native byte order &str?
I can get the [u8; 8] from 1000u64.to_ne_bytes(),
and I can get the &[u8] from 1000u64.to_ne_bytes().as_slice(),
but I have no idea how to convert the [u8; 8] / &[u8] into a native byte order &str.

Update: Since the [u8; 8] / &[u8] is already byte order stored, I guess I just need to conver the [u8; 8] / &[u8] into a corresponding &str as it's(same memory layout)?

And I guess I can't use std::str::from_utf8() since the &[u8] may not a valid UTF-8 string?

Basically, in the C/C++ env, I just need to use:

uint64_t x = 0x01020304_05060708;
const char *p = (const char *) &x; // Unsafe, but native byte order in nature

Anyone can help with this?

Can I just use the std::str::from_utf8_unchecked(1000u64.to_ne_bytes().as_slice()) ?

What's a native byte order string? Do you have an example in mind?

1 Like

I don't know about this, but since the &[u8] already byte order stored, I guess I just need to convert it as it's into a corresponding &str?

Do you mean you want "000000000000000f" (or "0f00000000000000") from 15? Or a sequence of bytes with 15 NULs? The former will involve allocating a String and the latter is problematic for non-ASCII byte values (as Rust strings are UTF8).

Maybe a better question is, what's your end goal?

(On mobile or I'd give code examples.)

1 Like

Do you mean you want "000000000000000f" (or "0f00000000000000" ) from 15 ?

It doesn't matter, the string should be lengthed 8 bytes, and for sure, it's not a UTF-8 string and will never be.

For example, in big-endian arch, it's 000000000000000f, 0f00000000000000 on little-endian. But it's always guaranteed to be 8 bytes long.

I managed to convert the &[u8] into a &[str] (used as if it's a byte array/slice).

pub fn main() {
    let name = {
        let a = (0 as u64).to_ne_bytes();
        //unsafe { std::str::from_utf8_unchecked(a.as_slice()) }